@khairulazmas — Bukit Bintang, Kuala Lumpur.

How to Travel like an Instagrammer

Khairulazmas
BloomrSG
Published in
3 min readSep 26, 2019

--

Do it for the gram.

When I stumbled upon this spot as I was scrolling through my Instagram (IG) feed, I thought to myself, “I’m sure I can find the exact location of this spot easily.”

But the reality is, this spot was very new and “hidden” from the online world at that point of time. There were no articles covering this so-called “Rainbow Street”.

The only information I had of this street was that it was Geo-tagged in Kuala Lumpur by a random Instagram account which had less than 50 followers. He or she probably lives around the area & thought it would be nice to snap a pic of the place. The account only had a total of 4 posts so I could tell that this person was not an active user. I tried sending a Direct Message (DM) but the person never replied.

So knowing that a lot of people didn’t know that this place existed, I started researching online & eventually came up with a way to find these IG spots everywhere I travel.

All you have to do now is Open your Instagram app and follow this GIF I made. I’m currently planning a trip to Istanbul, Turkey but I don’t really know where the IG spots are in this city. So here’s how I planned.

As you can see, the Top Post was just Geo-tagged Istanbul, Turkey. Very useful. Also, one thing you have to know is that not everyone is willing to share the exact location of their photo spot. But don’t worry. This is where it becomes fun. For me, at least.

I went to his feed and found another photo from the same spot. A few things can be observed in this photo.

  1. There’s a carpet & cushions on what looks like a rooftop of a building.
  2. Zoomed in a little and saw what looks like a mosque. I’m assuming it’s the Blue Mosque since it’s an iconic landmark of Istanbul.

So I then googled for “Istanbul Rooftop Carpet”

First image! So the next time you need help finding an Instagram spot, anywhere in the world really, I’d gladly help. See you next time!

--

--