I’M TIRED OF COVID

Diogo Martins
BloomrSG
Published in
3 min readNov 26, 2020

… but this is just starting…

At the rate the world is going into a second wave (knock on wood that everything goes well in the foreseeable future) - the thinking that COVID is about to be fixed and the world will go back to normal is a moot convo.

Yes there are 2 vaccines on the way and the world economy seems to not be as affected by what happened in March currently, but, the reality is that we’re just feeling the calm before the winter storm (it’s going to be a long 6 months ahead) so I’m already admitting I’m tired of COVID, but I’m preparing myself mentally for what is to come (as should everyone).

This post is a rant & release, so the objective is for you — the reader, to participate in inserting your “I’m starting to get ready for…” sentence after mine, so read and participate on!

The worst ones first:

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally (unfortunately it has already begun), for the virus to affect my family and loved ones more than it should (both in health and everything else).

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally for the terribly depressing news, culture & reality for the next 6 months across the world… but let me try to keep things a bit less heavy with the following mental exercise.

I’m starting to get ready to gain more weight during XMas, especially because… don’t want to go to too many places with people.

I’m starting to get ready to have another 6 months to a year of terrible zoom calls, horrid brainstorm & creative meetings & day to day delays of meetings & work that keeps being pushed down the road because people are getting fed up of working from home.

I’m starting to get ready to consume a lot more content again as I was doing in Feb/March when the storm started and everyone finally figured out that we were going to be at home for a long long while.

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally for terrible social media campaigns, a lot of them lazy and simply useful for the idea of constant posting, rather than to have honest conversations with a brand’s audience (there have been some awesome in the past 6 months but let’s been honest, social has been a desert lately).

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally for very few communal events & awesome concerts in the coming 6 months (I love going to the cinema, concerts & out for drinks, all things that are, even though possible, imprudent).

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally for another 6 months of delays in the releases of my favorite films, series, movies, books, music, anything.

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally for a terrible dating life in the next 6 months (cuz the past 6 months have been a joke lol).

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally that I need to get back to cooking my food myself again like it was usual before and stop ordering delivery every weekend…

What about you? What are you starting to prepare yourself mentally for in the coming 6 months?

I’m starting to prepare myself mentally for a lot of meditation time on the way…

--

--