The Harry Styles Cardigan

Tara Ayathan
BloomrSG
Published in
3 min readJan 20, 2021
Harry Styles wearing the JW Anderson cardigan

Let me tell you a bit about a project I started two weeks before I joined Bloomr. There was this trend going around TikTok where people were recreating the “Harry Styles Cardigan”. It’s a cardigan that Harry Styles wore on a lot of his tours.

It became so popular that JW Anderson, the designer, came out with a knitting pattern for that cardigan (probably because so many people were asking for it). They even nicknamed it the “Harry Styles Cardigan” and used his picture for the cover of the PDF. They also didn’t forget to thank their Tiktok fans.

This was great for me because around the time I saw those TikToks, the knitting pattern was released.

So I saw this as a sign, printed out my knitting pattern and made my way to Spotlight to buy yarn. I’m not going to tell you how much I spent because it gives me PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder). Just kidding. But it was ALOT. Why is yarn so expensive anyway?

Knitting Pattern from JW Anderson

Reading the knitting pattern was like reading a different language. Abbreviations like “K2tog” and “Yfwd” completely went over my head. Luckily, there were videos on youtube to help me along and others who were in the same position. I really needed them because I had completely no idea what I was doing, even after replaying the video several times.

I was really confused at first and kept doing the wrong thing over and over again. Especially because for this particular pattern each colour is a different style of knitting. And there are 8 colours…

However, after a while, I found myself getting the hang of it and it was actually really fun.

I started to really enjoy the process and found myself in a really weird position because when I started knitting I didn’t want to stop no matter how tired I was or how much my hands hurt.

I would tell myself at 12am that I’ll stop at 1am and suddenly the sun was up (oops).

I really wanted to finish it fast so I just kept knitting anytime I was awake for 2 weeks straight (I don’t recommend this). But honestly, once I had finished the cardigan, I kinda missed the fun of making it LOL.

So my advice to someone who is thinking about taking up a knitting project is to pace yourself, take breaks, and enjoy the process.

The only problem I have now is that it’s way too hot in Singapore to wear it outside…

The Finished Product

--

--