The Power of Pets

Tara Ayathan
BloomrSG
Published in
4 min readNov 4, 2020
My guinea pig, Sesame

Animals have always been something that has been close to my heart. I grew up essentially in the zoo — but that's a story for another day — and was constantly around animals or had pets in the house. It was not until I did not have a pet that I realised how much better life was with one.

After not having a pet for a few years, I got a hamster but it died in early 2019 after 3 years, which is old for a hamster. I had wanted to get another pet for a while after that. Right before Singapore went into lockdown in March, I got a long-haired, black and white guinea pig. I named her Sesame.

I must admit she is hard to take care of at times, especially when I am tired but she does bring undeniable joy into my life.

In fact, there is evidence to back up how pets can benefit your life. Let me share some with you.

Exercise

Ok, this does not really apply to me because guinea pigs are more of an indoor animal but I did have dogs before and I was definitely out in nature more often because of that. In fact, I have been meaning to get a playpen for Sesame so she can have some time in the grass. When that happens, I’ll probably be outside more often.

I think people who have dogs would definitely be able to relate to this as they need to be taken out for exercise, especially if you don’t have a garden. And inevitably their daily exercise becomes your daily exercise.

Entertainment

Pets provide an endless source of entertainment because they will always want to play with you (with the exception of cats, of course, I heard they like to be alone). Even just watching them sleep is entertaining. Well, to me at least — as you can see from the pictures I take of Sesame.

You can even just chill and watch TV with them. My guinea pig quite enjoyed the Netflix series “Emily in Paris”.

Sesame watching Emily in Paris

Social Interaction

Pets will always give you something to talk about. Whether it's the hilarious things they do or showing your friends the cute pictures you take of them (yea I should probably stop that before I lose all my friends).

You can even make new friends through your pets. Be it at the dog park or just buying pet food at the store. No doubt it helps you find people with similar interests as you.

Emotional Balance

It’s no secret that having a pet or playing with one makes you happy. It’s because it can elevate levels of serotonin and dopamine, which calm and relax. Pets can also help alleviate stress, anxiety, and even depression.

Now, I really relate to this one. I struggle with a lot of anxiety and whenever I’m anxious or stressed or on the verge of spiraling, picking up Sesame, playing with her, or hugging her helps calm me down. It gets me away from that negative headspace and helps me to realign my thoughts.

Photo by Joe Caione on Unsplash

At the end of the day, a pet is a lot of commitment in terms of time and money, and they might also need a lot of space. However, if you’re considering it and are able to provide it with what it needs, then I highly suggest going for it. I definitely don’t regret getting Sesame.

--

--