50-year-old Red Maple decorated with snow. Photo by Louise Peacock

A Winter Landscape

Our Garden in Winter

Louise Peacock
2 min readJan 24, 2023

--

I live in Canada. Southern Ontario to be precise. We have long winters. I am a custom garden designer and a professional gardener. Long winters do not suit me. So, during those months when it is too cold to be in the garden, and nothing much is growing anyway, I get to take in the winter scenes as I bide my time ‘til spring.

My first photo is of our dear departed Maple tree that was in our front garden and was the reason we bought the house. Sadly it began to deteriorate over time and had to be cut down two years ago for safety reasons.

Sea Buckthorn shows off its attractive shape with snow clusters. Photo by Louise Peacock

Some years ago I learned of the Sea Buckthorn Tree, shown in the photo above. It has many health benefits and is attractive to birds. I planted two in our front garden — a male and a female.

Snowy passage. Photograph by Louise Peacock

I like to divide my garden into different sections or rooms. This is a winding pathway between large shrubs that leads from the back patio to the back of our garden.

--

--

Louise Peacock

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.