The vase is just a jam jar, but the Coriopsis are beautiful. Photo by Louise Peacock.

Vases of Flowers

From our Garden

Louise Peacock
2 min readSep 28, 2023

--

My first offering came about while I was planting these gorgeous Coreopsis in a client garden. They snap easily and I was left with all these bits and hated to throw them out, so stuck them in this handy jar. Turns out they make really long-lasting cut flowers.

This is a Sake jug with some cut flowers in it. Photo by Louise Peacock

The story with the strangely bent pink Chrysanthemums is that if they are not in the full sun, they grow all warped trying to get what sun they can.

They are called Clara Curtis Chrysanthemums, and are one of the only varieties that tolerate our harsh winters.

I have been doing some garden reorganization and those were in the wrong place. While moving them they broke, so I took advantage and brought them inside. The single gold one is from a pot of mums I bought for a client and one little branch broke off, so I brought that inside also.

The pretty little Sake pot was a gift from a grateful music client some years ago.

Same Sake jug and same flowers except for the addition of a sprig of Boneset. Photo by Louise Peacock

My giant Boneset plant had begun to go to seed, so I was pruning back the dead flowers. Then I found a couple of newly sprouted flowers. while pruning off the old, dead ones, I accidentally broke a sprig of the new flowers. so of course, I had to save it.

I have learned this year that Boneset makes a very long-lasting cut flower.

--

--

Louise Peacock

Louise Peacock is a writer, garden designer, Reiki practitioner, singer-songwriter & animal activist. Favorite insult “Eat cake & choke” On Medium since 2016.