America’s Largest Bookstore Chain Just Dismissed My Entire Life with One Sentence

Pondering employment, bookselling, and vengeance on Highway 80

Paul Combs
Blow Your Stack
Published in
5 min readFeb 22, 2024

--

Photo by Peter Robbins on Unsplash

I was flying down old Highway 80 yesterday toward the big town of Wills Point, Texas (population 3,863), getting some serious first season of Supernatural vibes (Christine Carmichael knowns what I’m talking about) and actually missing the concrete madness of Dallas, all the while stewing over an e-mail I had received earlier in the day. Prior to receiving the e-mail, I had been stewing over the fact that every story my stepdad tells is about something that happened prior to Richard Nixon’s election as president. I had taken him to my apartment in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex to get him out of his house for the first time since my mom died a month ago, so I had several days of such stories, along with comments like, “that shopping center was a cow pasture in 1963.” The e-mail pushed all of this into the background.

Like many on this site, my reads/views/earnings have taken a significant tumble over the past year or so, and since Medium is one of my main sources of income, I have been forced to seek actual clock-punching employment again. I’m too old to dig ditches, too young to be a Wal-Mart greeter, and have found freelance writing jobs hard to come by since everyone fell in…

--

--

Paul Combs
Blow Your Stack

Writer, bookseller, would-be roadie for the E Street Band. My ultimate goal is to make books as popular in Texas as high school football...it may take a while.