Insane School Boards, Stupid Lawyers, and a Few Other Random Rants To Start Your Weekend

So many rants, so little time

Paul Combs
Blow Your Stack
Published in
4 min readMay 17, 2024

--

Image: Wikimedia Commons

I was sitting on the back porch very early this morning, drinking coffee and watching rabbits munch happily on the grass, when I realized it has been too long since I wrote a proper rant. My rants used to be a weekly thing, but they’ve taken a backseat to various other topics in recent months which is a little sad, because I always enjoyed writing them. It’s time to bring them back.

But where to even start? In 2024, it seems like there is something rant-worthy occurring every five minutes. Every time I started on one, my mind would rabbit-trail onto a different one (I blame the rabbits). Thus, to ease myself back into the subtle art of the rant, I’m not giving you a full-blown one today. Instead, below are a few quick rants on a variety of recent events. Maybe once I get more Bailey’s Irish Cream for my coffee (I’ve been out for a month now), I’ll be able to focus on a single topic.

1. I’ve written several times about the issue of monuments honoring Confederate leaders from the American Civil War and the Southern “Lost Cause” myth, and I didn’t expect to write about it again. After all, over the past several years, the U.S. Army has renamed multiple bases after actual American heroes rather than…

--

--

Paul Combs
Blow Your Stack

Writer, bookseller, would-be roadie for the E Street Band. My ultimate goal is to make books as popular in Texas as high school football...it may take a while.