Women in Business: Piret Mellik

Drew Arnold
Blu Mint
Published in
2 min readNov 7, 2016

Interview with Piret Mellik, Production Co-ordinator at Kriss Soonik Loungerie

Original Article Published on Blu Mint by Drew Arnold

The American Chamber of Commerce in Estonia hosted a Women in Leadership event last month, opened by Estonian Minister of Entrepreneurship Liisa Oviir. Blu Mint Digital was in attendance and chose to profile three amazing entrepreneurial women in Estonia: Anna-Greta Tsahkna, Berit Bailey and Piret Mellik. The final article in our series of interviews is Piret Mellik, Production Co-ordinator at Kriss Soonik Loungerie.

You freelance in a variety of roles. What are you currently involved in?

I look after production preparation, sourcing and technical design at Kriss Soonik Loungerie, I’m ‘Editor-in-Sewing’ at the Estonian craft magazine Käsitöö, I lecture students on sewing technology and pattern cutting, and I provide freelance tailoring service for jackets, coats and other items of clothing. That includes the occasional costume for my 5 year old niece who loves dressing up as Princess Elsa! I also study myself and am currently focused on leather work, although I’m always on the lookout for new courses that interest me.

How do you manage so many responsibilities?

I’ve always been used to managing multiple projects simultaneously so I can’t actually imagine only working on one job. It does help that I’m doing work that I love.

I never consciously made a choice to be a freelancer, it was a natural progression for my career. After studying and working abroad for 6 years, I moved back to Estonia and immediately began doing project based work. After a while I got to a point where I had 2 to 3 large projects simultaneously providing a secure income, with smaller side projects I could complete depending on the time and interest that I had.

It feels awesome being my own boss and taking full responsibility for everything I do.

Continue Reading>>>

Favour: Would you scroll down + tap the green heart to ‘Recommend’ this if you liked it?

--

--