Pedlar of Poems, Biddy Belletrist, Wrangler of Rhymes

Introducing The Blue Bardess

Created for the Arizona Renaissance Festival, but Destined for More!

Suzy Jacobson Cherry
6 min readDec 27, 2022

--

The Blue Bardess publication on is a repository of Blue Bardess rhymes. The Bardess is preparing for the upcoming Arizona Renaissance Festival, where she is tasked with peddling chocolates with a smile, and hopefully, a well-turned verse. As a result, most of the first pieces shared here will be aptly related to chocolates and Elizabethan turns of phrase.

Read on to learn how she came about.

Merrie Meet!

I think I’ve written about her before, this new persona of mine. I may have mentioned her, but I didn’t go into detail. Today, I want to tell you all about her. In doing so, I’m sure I’ll repeat myself. Forgive me. I’m an old lady. Lol.

When I was a young woman, I was enamored by those folks who belonged to the Society for Creative Anachronism (SCA). I thought I might want to join, but when the opportunity presented itself, I chickened out. It was 1988. I did one semester at the University of Houston. While I was there, I attended a sort of mini-Renaissance Festival that they held on campus. It was great fun, and everyone was really nice. I didn’t have any money, so I wrote a poem to trade for a tarot reading, which, shared in a separate post.

--

--

Suzy Jacobson Cherry

Writer. Educator. Priestess. Not bound by genre. Founder & Editor of Brigid's Arrow and Petits Fours; Editor of Bouncin & Behavin Poems