Insider tips Amsterdam from Carel Coenraad

Blue Harvest
Blue Harvest Tech Blog
4 min readFeb 1, 2019

By Luc Maas

Left to right: Carel Coenraad, Fernando Cherchi and Pieter Eyck

The Blue Harvest office is located in Amsterdam and that is not for some random reason. Amsterdam is the capital city and one of the most vibrant cities in the Netherlands. In this blog, one of our Senior Software Engineers, Carel Coenraad, shares his tips with us as an insider. Carel has been living in Amsterdam for about 6 years and he grew up in the Netherlands.

Why did you choose to live in Amsterdam?

“I was born and raised in Amstelveen, a suburb of Amsterdam. For this reason, many people in my social circle are living in or around Amsterdam. I also studied in Amsterdam so it made sense for me to stick around.’’

Are you the person to talk to when it comes to tips in Amsterdam?

“Well, it’s important to note that I’m by no means an expert. But since Blue Harvest has a lot of international employees, I guess that I’m the guy to talk to. I also enjoy going out with friends in Amsterdam to discover some nice spots. There is so much to do in Amsterdam and I love to explore the city. At the same time, I like the fact that Amsterdam feels like a big village compared to metropolitans such as New York, Tokyo, or London.’’

What are your favorite hotspots and why?

“I live in the Pijp area. The Pijp area is located between the east and the city center and is known for it’s bar scene. I usually hang out close to my home in the Pijp, because that is convenient. Close to where I live, there is a bar called “Dopey’s Elixir”. At this bar, they serve different kinds of Belgian, German, and Dutch beers. I like “Dopie’s Elixir”, because its a real Amsterdam brown café, where many locals go to and not only young people like me ;). Apart from “Dopie’s Elixir”, the Pijp is full of bars for younger people such as students. Classic ones are “Flamingo”, “Pilsvogel”, and “De Groene Vlinder.”

Which bars would you recommend for expats?

“First of all, I would advise trying a few different bars. There is no specific go-to bar. For sure everyone has to go to Mazzeltov once. Mazzeltov is the typical bar where you go to on the weekends when all other bars in the Pijp close at 3 AM. I believe Mazzeltov closes at 5 or 6 AM. You definitely have to go there once to experience the vibe.”

Which hotspot would you advise to go to as an expat?

“I would highly recommend going to the Concert Hall. The Concert Hall is probably my favorite hotspot in the city. First of all, it’s a beautiful building, especially from the inside. On top of that, it’s on the list of the top 5 best sounding concert halls in the world. I’ve seen the Dutch Royal Concert Orchestra play there many times and it is always phenomenal! At the Concert Hall, they play different music styles. These music styles can range from classical to jazz to piano music and sometimes even pop music is played. Everyone will find something to enjoy there and that is why it’s my favorite hotspot to go to.”

Concert Hall Amsterdam

What do you do with your free time in Amsterdam?

“My biggest hobby and passion is music. My main instrument is the drums and I really enjoy playing with my band. Unfortunately, practicing the drums in an apartment in Amsterdam is not really possible. I’d like to play music every day so I started taking piano lessons three years ago. Playing a digital piano allows me to play all night with my headphones on without disturbing anyone. Next to this, I enjoy jogging, going to concerts, playing indoor football, photography, cooking, playing chess, and having a drink or two.”

What would be your advice to make new friends in Amsterdam?

“Generally, I like to hang out with people that have similar interests to mine. Maybe it works well if you could join a sports club, a music class or something like that to try and meet new people there.”

How does the transportation work in Amsterdam?

“Bikes are king! Cars are a pain in Amsterdam and if you need to go across town by using public transport it takes forever. Since Amsterdam has such a great infrastructure for bikes, you can easily go from one part of the city to the other in less than 30 minutes.”

Bicycles in Amsterdam

What is your advice on finding a house or room in Amsterdam?

“Good luck. No really, this is nearly impossible. I would advise getting an agency to help you out and accept the fees or try to get lucky and find something via word of mouth.”

Amsterdam

--

--