Report: Blue Harvest at J-Fall 2018

Blue Harvest
Blue Harvest Tech Blog
3 min readNov 13, 2018

by YuKwan Man, Marketing Manager of Blue Harvest

Have you seen us at J-Fall? If not, you have missed out on our Blue Harvest Engineers on the stage. Last Thursday, on November 8, two of our software engineers gave technical sessions. Jay Rajani spoke about Axon Framework and Armando Ramírez Vila spoke about Container Orchestration. Here is my report about J-fall.

Coffee with my face on it!
Capgemini booth with our Capgemini colleagues

This was my second time at J-Fall, and I was impressed by the well-organized event. I’ve spoken with Richelle Bussenius, the organizer of J-fall, and she told me that this edition has reached the highest record of visitors, with over 1700 people! You can learn from inspiring keynote speakers from around the world, hands-on coding workshops, and technical breakout sessions. It’s the biggest Java conference in the Netherlands.

The highlights of J-fall
Last year, we had one of our Blue Harvest Engineers as a keynote speaker. This year, we had not one, but two of our engineers as speakers. I am very proud of Jay and Armando, because it is a challenge to talk to a large audience with a high technical level.

Axon Framework: A CQRS approach to micro services by Jay Rajani
I asked Jay Rajani about his experience. Jay says: “Speaking in front of Java Experts itself is a thrill. I felt that I could deliver something new and interesting to them in a funny way. The audience also asked a couple of difficult questions at the end of the session. It was also a good learning for me.” You can find his presentation here and the public repository for the demo here.

Jay Rajani at J-Fall
Jay Rajani at J-Fall
Jay Rajani at J-Fall

Demystifying Kubernetes and Container orchestration for developers by Armando Ramirez Vila
Armando Ramírez Vila says: “It was my first time at J-Fall, and it was amazing, because both, the people and the vibe, were great. I felt that the audience really interacted with me. It was a great learning experience for me.” You can find slides from his presentation here and the source code here. This repository contains terraform code and helm charts values to provision a fully operational Kubernetes cluster. Everything was automated with a Gitlab pipeline, and parametrized, to launch more than one cluster at the same time.

Armando Ramírez Vila at J-Fall
Armando Ramírez Vila at J-Fall

Other interesting sessions
Me, My Code, and I by Rosanne Joosten, was also an interesting talk. She explained about the link between psychology and coding style. Another interesting talk was by Simon Maple, which was about Common Vulnerabilities you wish your Java app didn’t have. This guy was amazing because he could hack everything and showed this live to the audience.

Overall, it was a nice day with good sessions, a lot of food, drinks, free goodies. Thanks J-fall for having us. Hope we can make more an impact next year!

More info: Blue Harvest and J-Fall.

--

--