Come, Be ‘Literal’ With Me For a Moment

Song lyrics reimagined

Nick Dubin
Blue Notes To Myself
2 min readFeb 21, 2024

--

Elton John’s Rocket Man: Author prompt for Dall-E 3

The best antidote for taking yourself too seriously is self-deprecation. So, I am going to make some fun of myself. Are you ready?

When I was a kid, I often took song lyrics and titles quite literally. Do you want to see what this looked like in my head? Well, ok then.

Billy Joel: From Piano Man…“They sit at the bar and put bread in my jar and say, ‘Man, what are you doin’ here’”?

Author prompt for Dall-E 3

Kenny Loggins: Footloose

Author prompt for Dall-E 3

Jimmy Buffett: Cheeseburger in Paradise

Author prompt for Dall-E 3

Bonnie Tyler: Total Eclipse of the Heart

Author prompt for Dall E-3

Men at Work: From Down Under: “Do you come from a land down under?”

Author prompt for Dall E-3

Elton John: Crocodile Rock

Author prompt for Dall-E 3

Nat King Cole: (Get Your Kicks on) Route 66

Author prompt for Dall-E 3

Jimi Hendrix: From Purple Haze: The real lyrics go…”Excuse me while I kiss the sky.” I heard something else, and in fact, so do a lot of people. No picture is needed for this one.

And finally…Frank Sinatra: Stars Fell on Alabama

Author prompt for Dall E-3

--

--

Nick Dubin
Blue Notes To Myself

Diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome (now ASD level 1) in 2004. Author of Autism Spectrum Disorder, Developmental Disabilities and the CJS, among other books.