Yvonne Wen
Blue Sky Republic
Published in
2 min readJul 17, 2023

--

Food of love created with Midjourney

Most of you might be familiar with the book The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate by Gary Chapman. It’s a great book, we all agree. However, in my recent discussions with the BSR crew, I wondered what about “food?”

Food is definitely a love language in my culture. When I was young, my mom stayed in the kitchen most of the time. She was either cooking for all the family members, or was making a few pots of sweet fermented rice or bags of dumplings to share with other families or friends. She also cooked according to the seasons — not 4 but the entire 24 solar terms. Even today, I still remember she was sweating sitting on a small stool making those zongzi in a steaming hot kitchen. I didn’t know why and I didn’t try to understand why until today I am a mother: I wake up early to prepare a healthy breakfast or stay up late to make something. There is always something that I want to make for my kids or friends. I myself cannot believe I used to eat 3 meals cold by myself just because I don’t find any purpose to cook. Today I even make my own sourdough bread just for my love ones! The food presents the gifts and the services.

Food helps us to connect. In every culture we all have celebrations where we invite friends over to spend time together. I still remember my solo journey during the Trans Siberian railway or the overnight train through India, I connected with so many friends with different cultures simply because of sharing the plates. No doubt food breaks our language barrier.

During Covid, my friends and I exchanged food more frequently than before, and we met new friends because of those home-made dishes. In my professional life, I see how important it is to have those dinner events with customers or prospects regardless of B2C or B2B. No matter what kind of setups, it is all about human connections in the end. Food represents quality time: Enjoy, together.

So we can say, food is part of the love language, right?

Have you expressed your feelings through sharing a plate? Drop a line and let /me know!

--

--

Yvonne Wen
Blue Sky Republic

Bring a multipotentialite, I facilitate, coach, write, analyse, operate, create....I am providing various services for people who have challenges in their jobs.