Staying safe on Medium

For all writers, but especially my sisters

Melanie Wijeratna
Blue Star Ink

--

I like Medium. It’s a great place for people to gather and share stories.

It’s also a place where you need to set boundaries.

The world can be big and vast. With lots of dark crevices and corners.

Medium shines a light for us. A path forward. A way through.

But sometimes, when you’re interacting with other writers, you can get that unmistakable feeling of warning.

So here are my tips on staying safe on Medium.

Disclaimer: My views only. I am a Certified Information Security Manager (CISM). And I grew up in the 80s, when common sense was a big deal (not that I had a lot but anyway).

Never give out your personal contact information

Unless you have a business contact that you freely share, for business purposes, I wouldn’t recommend going off the Medium platform to connect with others.

This is for your own safety.

Medium likely has guidelines around this, that say something similar. Or at least, they don’t recommend it — or make clear they have no legal liability once you’re off the platform.

So just don’t do it.

Pay attention to comments

You suddenly getting a lot of flattery? Lots of wonderful compliments? Your writing is…

--

--

Melanie Wijeratna
Blue Star Ink

I am a Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) and a PROSCI-certified People Change Manager. I’m also an ultra-runner and have lived and worked all over.