The neighbourhoods of my life

Melanie Wijeratna
Blue Star Ink
Published in
4 min readMay 24, 2024

--

The memories I’ll have forever

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

I’ve been very lucky to live all over the world. By the time I was eight, I’d already lived on three different continents.

This story is dedicated to Elaineh. Who is my favourite author on Medium, and because she asked me to write about it.

This particular story only has two chapters. If I decide to write more later on, you’ll hear about more neighbourhoods, from more countries, in more chapters.

Photo by Giammarco Boscaro on Unsplash

London – 2000’s

I’m originally from London. Although the way I’ve lived my life, I’m originally from everywhere.

But factually speaking, I was born in London, England. 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

And for whatever reason, anytime I’m back in London, I feel like I’m at home. It’s a feeling like no other. Like becoming a mother for the first time. Inexplicable. And biological.

I moved home to London, in my twenties. And what a blast…

The streets of London are full of memory and life and vigour. Of struggle more than a thousand years past, and strife of the current day protests. It is a…

--

--

Melanie Wijeratna
Blue Star Ink

I am a Certified Information Security Manager (CISM) and a PROSCI-certified People Change Manager. I’m also an ultra-runner and have lived and worked all over.