How This Intrepid BeeGee Reinvented Herself in Paris

Blueground
Inside Blueground
Published in
3 min readDec 3, 2021

Enabling anyone and everyone to travel the world with total flexibility is at the heart of what we do at Blueground. It’s just as important for our 500-plus team members to feel at home all over the globe as it is for our thousands of satisfied guests.

Earlier this year, Blueground introduced the BG Nomads program, a special initiative that lets most of our employees live and work from anywhere in the world, as well as enjoy short- and longer-term assignments in Blueground’s markets. Afroditi Agathou from our Channel Marketing team sat down with Inside Blueground to share her firsthand experience living in Paris on assignment.

When the pandemic hit last year, Afroditi had to scrap her dream of living in the City of Light as an Erasmus+ intern. “In Greece we say that every obstacle leads you to a better result, and that is just what happened to me. When I heard about the Blueground Nomads program I realized that it was my opportunity to finally do what I wanted for three years,” she said. In November, Afroditi settled into a lovely Blueground apartment in Paris for the experience of a lifetime.

“Paris is one of my favorite cities, as I love the culture, the language and its daily routine — yes, I am croissant and wine addicted! Since I’m in charge of the Paris market as a Channel Marketing Associate, this was the perfect match. The BG Nomads program gave me the opportunity to stay in a city that I love without risk, as I didn’t leave my team or my job.”

Afroditi has spent the last month in the City of Light living like a local and making the most of her free time. “The days here pass quickly, as half of the day you are at the office, and the rest you want to walk through every neighborhood of Paris. Moreover, because of the pandemic I think everyone appreciates a new travel experience!”

It has also been invaluable for her to connect with her Paris colleagues face to face. “In my daily routine in Athens I was in communication with part of the French team, and now I’m also working with other departments. As a result I know more about their responsibilities, their inside communications, and their general way of working, which helps me improve my job as well. I have not only adapted a new culture, but I now understand our Paris market a lot better. Every day I improve my soft skills, which I consider to be very important.”

One of the best parts about the BG Nomads program is that it’s a risk-free way for employees to experience all of Blueground’s global markets firsthand. “I am the person who says ‘anything that takes you of your comfort zone, do it!” and that’s why I participated in this program.” Afroditi said.

“Blueground gives you the opportunity to explore the world without risks, as you will keep doing the same work and with the same people. At the same time, you will discover new cities around the world, new ways of working, you will become a local and not a tourist, you will learn the pros and cons of every culture, and most importantly? If you don’t like it, you just return home, no time limits or restrictions at all.”

The BG Nomads program is just one of the unique benefits available to Blueground team members. Do you dream of traveling the world while you help others feel more at home? Check out our open roles to find the position that’s right for you.

--

--

Blueground
Inside Blueground

A real estate tech company that makes people feel at home wherever they choose to live. Show up. Start living.