A Secret Never Shared

Zer0
Blue Insights

--

A tale of chasing my tail

Photo by 张 学欢 on Unsplash

This old box of strings, it’s the only way you speak to me
Some times I hear it late in the night, other times as I fall asleep
But I never hear it, like I do now
As these brass strings ring out

The whole time I ever knew you, you had a secret that you never shared.
See you knew something that I didn’t know.
You knew, that your death was near.
It’s been what seems like twenty years

But I still remember when I hung up the phone
I look back and feel you break down in tears
Knowin it’s the last time you’ll hear my voice
Knowin’ that I never knew

I see you packing your last bag,
Walking out that door for the last time,
Maybe lighting one more cigarette
I like to think you even had a drink, or two
Just at the thought of knowing that I never knew

I see you leaving that island for the final time
The edge of America drifting into the horizon line
And I wonder if you took a cup of sand,
Or if you went out one last time,
Feet in the water, head in your hand

I remember the sound in your voice
It said so much more than I ever knew
It was the last time I’d talk to you,
Never knowing, that I wouldn’t watch you grow old

The whole time I ever knew you, you had a secret that you never shared.
See you knew something that I didn’t know.
You knew, that your death was near.
You knew, you’d be reduced to a picture in a book
That my son wouldn’t recognize
And I’d just stare, into your eyes

The whole time I ever knew you, you had a secret that you never shared.
See you knew something that I didn’t know.
You knew, that your death was near.
You knew to cherish the time that you have here
Don’t think, that I take you for one that didn’t care
Ya see when I look back now I see all the times you told me
But the youth of my life stood there just to fool me

The whole time I ever knew you, you always had a secret you tried to share
Its a truth I can never hide from, this time of year
Be thankful for all you have and hold dear

--

--

Zer0
Blue Insights

Writer of things unread, father of 3— amateur parent. Seasoned thinker and novice feeler of feelings.