Photo by Olha Darchuk on Saatchiart

A Solitary Stroll

Shruthi
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readMar 4, 2022

--

Wondered if it was a dream,
Somewhere deep within,
Wished it just was not,
Hence, cannot know,
If it were simply true.

Random emotions did not flow,
Sterile heart I became,
Mere breeze led me,
To a tree, unseen,
There stood an I.

If that was a feeling of real bliss,
I’d be sanely lying, believe me,
Cuz curiosity killed Reason,
Lowered I, to see beneath,
What bliss failed to express.

The sight wrenched me inside,
Crushed the pace of breath,
Can I touch, the way I saw,
The red linen that spread,
To pamper a little lady.

Here of, I wished that my glances,
Did not touch, one so fragile,
I’d blind myself, if they did,
And brought craters upon,
The moon, I beheld.

Did I gently float , or sweetly swim?
Nearer and nearer, to branches,
Drooping to shower shade,
Still didn’t smell fragrance,
Her presence conquered..

Even the tree itself, stood awestruck,
Bewildered how she laid beneath,
The leaves kept quiet awake,
Clouding- the scarf flared white,
A full moon night, spotless!…

Sleeping beautiful-underneath a tree
As I stood behind it
- "No, you saw my corpse"
- "Thank you I have met the love of my life"
- "Don’t go over a voice"....

How shall I not go over the choice of the words
The opinions that such a delicate heart expressed
Can hold no more
To come to the other side
to see nothing
Hears a whisper
"Do you still love me".....

When I preached my love
-They called her poetry
I called her "my love",

I summoned, My beloved
It was never love at first sight
How shall I convince you with that
Neither did you or me see each other
and she said "I heard your voice
I heard you cry
Before you sought..."
And before I sought you reached me...
And that's how we met..

While I wait for you to return
Beneath the tree
In my lap shall you sleep again, in
And I will guard you even from the shadows of branch and leaves this time..
Always, with tender stroking fragrances from
Petals of my lines shall you rest ..

And will search for that tree,
In reality
With a trace, a clue in me
Is it ages afar?
Is it a secret?
"It’s not me alone who
endureth this suffering of separation,
not only me who longs for,
he waiteth dearly too.
Said me and my beloved at once...

Until I reach the tree of everlasting life
You, my dream shall be
The apple of my eyes
My soul’s sole supplication
Every day as my eyes open
I realize a part of your life becomes me
And the one behind these lids
Longs dearly to become yours or rather you….

--

--

Shruthi
Blue Insights

Life is a comedy to who think, and a tragedy to who feel and I am somewhere in between...