A speckle of the sun

A.M’s Journal
Blue Insights
1 min readApr 19, 2024

--

Morning sun trickling through the window
Photo by Ashe Walker on Unsplash

The morning sun trickling in
through the long green window
I lay down to rest on my yoga mat
Sweat dripping from my face onto the mat
I close my eyes for a bit
The desire to see the morning sun
tearing my tired eyes open
I’m unable to see the sun fully
But I can see a patch of light
A ray refracted through my sweat
in between my eye lashes
I look at the patch of light
Eyes slightly open
And it strikes me
This patch of light can’t exist
without the sun, and hence
It is the sun.
I say my usual prayer
Asavadityo Brahma. Brahmaiva Sathyam. Brahmaivahamasmi.
(The sun is the universal soul. The soul is the truth. I am that soul).
I close my eyes again.
And I smile subtly, wondering
How easy it was for me
to realize that the bit of light was nothing but the sun
Why don’t I see it as clearly as that
That I too am nothing but a bit of it.

--

--

A.M’s Journal
Blue Insights

I write about my mental health journey in the form of poetry and narratives. I've just started writing on Medium and I've been writing on mypublicjournal.com.