Admire

Sayali
Blue Insights
2 min readMay 24, 2020

--

and so I would admire you
as I admire the pink and yellow flowers of spring,
no matter how much I want to pluck them,
I won’t.

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I shall remember
the breaths of the scented air filled with your fragrance,
your flowery touch, and
how my eyes could never have enough of your wondrous sight.

I shall remember that
you have bloomed not just for me,
your soft petals aren’t to be kept in a closed book,
you can’t be owned, not even by the plant
that firmly holds you with its roots.
You have bloomed
to dissolve your fragrance of love into the air
and bless everyone with your presence.

And maybe,
I shall keep the admiration of you in my heart
and never attend you again.
I haven’t yet learned to swallow the desire
to bring you with me.

So I will keep you in my heart and create art
out of the memories I cherish fondly,
of the scented breaths,
and the ecstatic touch,
and the magnificent sight.

And no matter how much I wove those memories
like a honeybee collects nectar from flowers
and produces honey,
my heart shall always sigh
at the thought that I won’t be able to
give you back.

I know the pink and yellow flowers do not blossom just for me,
and so I won’t make the world devoid of its beauty,
but I hope they know they mean
a little more to me.

I know the stars do not shine just for me
but on the dark nights, I shall count them as if
I am counting my blessings.
On the rare nights when I could only count one,
I would count you
as my only blessing. 💛

--

--

Sayali
Blue Insights

to live moments.. to write stories.. because i am here.