Another Good Day Not Dead

I have proof I am not yet dead

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readApr 12, 2024

--

By Rapideye on iStock (image licensed by author)

What a surprise, I am not dead…
and there is proof. I don’t read
paper newspapers anymore, but
still log on every morning checking
the obituaries to see if my smiling face
is nicely displayed alongside a small
article, which I have already written
to save my wife the trouble, distilling
my entire seven decade life into just,
two paragraphs, he was born, left a couple
of kids, three Boston Terriers, and a long
suffering wife who can finally read quietly
without me commenting on everything
I just read… I mean, if I am dead, I should
be listed in there next to the other lucky
candidates that got to die with me on my
special day, the old, gone or the doomed.
I will use a current picture though, I do
hate the ones who are embarrassed to be
seen as old, and use a fifty year old high
school snapshot instead of the wrinkled
mess we all become. So I pour
myself some tea, open my laptop,
scroll and scan, and if I am not there
nothing can ruin my day… but if I
ever find myself listed that tea will
become an early glass of wine.

--

--

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.