Believe in possibilities

A.M’s Journal
Blue Insights
2 min readMar 21, 2024

--

Image taken by the author

We’re crossing the sky
they tell me
Join us, they invite
Idiots, I think to myself
There is no going beyond the sky
It’s the wall of the earth
They’re going to get themselves killed
And I move on
with my daily grind.

Off to cross the ocean’s horizon
they tell me
Join us, they invite
Jokers, I think to myself
They are going to get themselves killed
And I move on
with my daily grind

Mom? how did they know?
My daughter asks
reading about the discovery
That there is something
across the ocean
How did they know?
She looked at me
I remained silent
‘There’s so much to discover’
She says excitedly
Not waiting for me to
answer her question
And runs outside
to meet her waiting friends

I sit there
Staring at the daily news
So many opportunities
So many opportunities
I could have flown through the sky
Could have sailed across the ocean
Could have scaled the tallest peak
If only…
I said out loud to myself
They believed, my dear.
They believed.

Off to the moon, mom
she tells me
My heart wrenching
in the fear of unknown
Sending my child
A woman now
My lips curl
in an attempted smile
Best wishes dear
All will be well
I tell her
She looks into my eyes
It’s dripping fear
Mom, All will be well
Believe, she tells me.
I take a deep breath.
She’s the adult now
My eyes finally smile
I’m at peace
She’s at peace
All will surely be well.

--

--

A.M’s Journal
Blue Insights

I write about my mental health journey in the form of poetry and narratives. I've just started writing on Medium and I've been writing on mypublicjournal.com.