Blissfully Unaware

As I wish to be.

Adam Ray Cronk
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readSep 28, 2023

--

Photo by Zoltan Tasi on Unsplash

I push and pull a stone that feels
no remorse or yearning or despair,
the stone remains blissfully unaware,
as if I were never there.

I roll it on up the hill
then let it slink back down,
it leaps and bounds all around
but never makes a sound.

I wonder how it could be so hushed
and never eke a peep,
even from the highest peak
its impact is rather meek.

Across rivers wide and through valleys deep
it rolls on without a care,
and even once it catches air,
the sound is never there.

Throughout the morn and throughout the day
and well into the eve,
it bobs and weaves through leaves and trees
and not once disturbs the peace.

I pondered long these strange events
curious as it roams,
and, truth be told, this simple stone
seemed like it was at home.

No matter where it carried on
it carried no care in the world,
and as it whirled and twirled along
it finally uttered a word.

All in all, I must admit
this was rather a rare display,
for, if I may, I swore I heard it say
“Fine weather we’re having today!”

©

Adam Ray Cronk 2023

--

--

Adam Ray Cronk
Blue Insights

Poet & short story writer, lover of eldritch horror and anything Poe or Lovecraft | My writing ebbs and flows, from dark to light and back again.