Challenges of an Asian Woman in a Corporate Clique

How I faced them with gusto to find my identity.

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Published in
5 min readJun 15, 2021

--

mohamed_hassan | Pixabay

Corporate culture matters. How management chooses to treat its people impacts everything for better or for worse.– Simon Sinek

Being a woman and living in Asia is a lethal combo. You get to face harassment at every level and to improve the financial conditions for yourself demands a great sacrifice.

If you are single, you have different expenses in terms of paying for the accommodation, buying groceries, bills, and all. And if you are married, your life is going to be hell while maintaining the balance between work and home.

I am someone who has worked in the corporate world for 8 years. I started my career as a Business Process Associate in 2009 and moved out of it in 2017 as a Migrations Manager. The challenges I faced were quite serious, but I didn’t have enough resources to bring about the change in the industry.

Today, I am sharing with you all the kinds of challenges I came across and how I happened to face them with gusto.

Glass Ceiling Effect

The term “Glass Ceiling” is not new for people who are well acquainted with corporate culture practices. It’s about now allowing the right workforce to move ahead in…

--

--

Gurpreet Dhariwal
Blue Insights

Author of Four books. Domestic Violence Survivor, Domestic Violence Advocate @BTSADV, Sketcher, Dog Lover, Poet. www.gurpreetdhariwal.com/