Chasing The Shade

Ridge
Blue Insights

--

A Poem ~ 3 Versions ~ The Good, The Bad, And The Ugly

Photo by crystal on Unsplash

I keep to the shade all along my way
Islands of respite from Sol’s searing ray
I meander along from isle to isle
Chasing the shade on a midsummer’s day

I sought the shade as an easier way
But that island of refuge led me astray
I meandered along easily swayed
Chasing the shade did but myself betray.

Beware the shade for you will be betrayed
Do not fall prey to those islands of gray
Or you’ll wander aimlessly and astray
Chasing the shade ain’t childs play

© July 28, 2024 ~ RidgeMagee

I agonized over these 4 lines for two weeks, unable to decide which metaphor to use. Finally, I made a command decision to incorporate all my shade metaphors.

Ridge's Poetry

107 stories

--

--

Ridge
Blue Insights

Engage & explore alternative points of view... Form opinions and convictions empirically... Tender perspectives without apology...