Confessions of a Former Gifted Child

What happens when you’re no longer wise beyond your years?

Erica Helander
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readAug 19, 2020

--

Photo by Irena Carpaccio on Unsplash

I’m reading at a 12th grade level.
I hope I still am, anyway.

I’m not sure what percentile I’m in anymore, or who I’m being measured against. Being in the 99th seems statistically unlikely, but it’s the only acceptable answer.

I haven’t had a piano recital in ages.
Those are called concerts once you’re grown up, I guess. I haven’t had one of those since school either.

My boss doesn’t give me a report card. I should be relieved.
I spent 22 years basing my self-worth on A’s and extra credit, though, and old habits die hard.
(So let’s be honest: “meets expectations” means failure.)

The adults who used to coo that I was “wise beyond my years” don’t do much cooing anymore;
at best, I’m just wise now, and a little bitter about it.

--

--

Erica Helander
Blue Insights

I got in trouble for reading too much as a kid, so now I’m morally obligated to be a writer.