Defining Yourself Is Important

Being your own individual and staying true to yourself can help you live a life of fulfillment

Benny Lim
Published in
3 min readSep 19, 2019

--

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

If anyone would have asked me 20 years ago, where I’d see myself in 20 years time, I would probably have given them an answer that would have been pretty vague.

Mainly because at the age of 13, I wouldn’t have been able to really know what my future would be like or what I’d actually want to do.

I think at that time, my mind was more or less set on becoming a professional footballer but as it is in life, nothing is certain except for death.

At the age of 33, having my own little family, I’m at the point in my life where the window to truly define who I am and the legacy that I would like to leave behind is growing smaller and smaller.

Again, nothing is certain in life.

Up to the point of my death, I can still do things that could define me and make me be remembered for but right now, I feel like I need to have a clearer picture of what exactly is it that I want out of my life and what I would like to leave behind for the future generations.

My problem is, I feel like I’m still far from reaching there.

--

--

Benny Lim
Blue Insights

Medium writer since 2019, writing my way to a better life, and helping you lead a better life, one article at a time. https://iambennylim.medium.com/membership