Don’t tell me what to do

Why do people love to give advice?

Órla K.
Blue Insights
Published in
Oct 1, 2021

--

I, for one
hate being told
what to do.

I have a mind of my own,
I can work things out,
I can learn from my
mistakes.

Why would your advice be
what I need, want
or even take?

Clearly, you are saying
you know best.
I’m sorry to disappoint you,
but haven’t you
looked at your own mess?

It’s insulting to tell me
I will fail,
if that’s what you think
is going to happen.

Maybe I need to fail
or fall or whatever you
think you’re saving me
from.

This is my life.
My journey.
If I need your advice
I’ll ask.

Thank you for reading.

© Orla K.

Thank you, Blue Insights, for publishing my poem.

--

--

Órla K.
Blue Insights

Learn about mental, emotional, and spiritual heath. Top writer in Travel. Christian Life Coach/Substack: https://orlakenny.substack.com/