From Illness to Inspiration

They had something to help them move forward

Conscious Contributor
Blue Insights
Published in
4 min readOct 31, 2020

--

Current times are very stressful owing to the corona scare. Some are affected directly while many others may have been indirectly affected in terms of financial loss. Even few of those who have recovered have to live their life with irreparable lungs damage henceforth a life ahead full of challenges. One of my friend’s mother is in the same boat. She has fully recovered from COVID-19 yet her preexisting conditions combined with Corona has now made her physical life tougher than before. Hearing all this is bound to instill some anxiety, insecurities regarding our own health even if currently we are in safe zone.
Human mind nevertheless is very strong by default. One moment is spent in fear but another moment can be contrary opposite, as it quickly finds out ways to motivate us. A search for inspirational articles on medium is yet another proof.
Surrounded by the similar chain of thoughts, one day while surfing the web I came across few wonder people who have lived their life to another level, became inspiration to others in spite of the physical adversity thrown to them by destiny.
I was interested to find out what was the push force for them to move on when the inertia would be so high. I realized it didn’t matter if it was the same or different as one thought among all of them was common.

“I don’t want my pain and struggle to make me a victim. I want my battle to make me someone else’s hero.” —

They used Mind power in eliminating the helplessness, the discomfort felt due to illness or pain along with a mantra unique to each one of them.

  1. Smile at pain

Sparsh Shah, an extremely talented vivacious 12-year-old boy, has battled all odds to become a musical sensation in America. The inspirational achiever, who was born with close to 40 fractures, has managed to startle the world with his hard work and dedication under excruciating circumstances.
When asked how he deals with the pain, he says:

“There is not much you can do about pain…isn’t it? Crying is just a natural response to pain but you need to smile. This is what my Dad taught me since I was small. He said that I should tell my bones to smile whenever there is a fracture. If I don’t smile at them, they won’t respond to me with a smile.”

2. Can do what any normal can do

Chance Smith is known for his belief that he can do anything a “normal” person can do, and his foster parents have encouraged his confidence. He can’t draw with his hands. His elbows and hands are locked in place due to a rare condition called arthrogryposis that affects his joints. So he draws with his mouth.

The amazing part is that he can draw just as well as anyone who has normal use of their hands can draw. Even more impressive, he uses his mouth for other functions, such as typing, which he does with a stick in his mouth.

What a true inspiration he is!!

3. Less time more to do

Stephen hawking was quoted as saying
‘When you are faced with the possibility of an early death, it makes you realize that life is worth living and that there are a lot of things you want to do,”. The achievements of this man are self explanatory and inspirational for everyone. When Stephen Hawking was diagnosed with motor-neuron disease at the age of 21, he was told he has a life left of only two years instead he lived on for more 55 years, becoming one of the world’s most celebrated scientists.

4.Loosing hope is crippling

For every disability you have, you are blessed with more than enough abilities to overcome your challenges. This is what Nicholas James Vujicic believes. An Australian-American Christian evangelist and motivational speaker born with Tetra-amelia syndrome, a rare disorder characterized by the absence of arms and legs. After a failed suicide attempt at age of ten he realized just in time that he cannot upset his parents who love him so much and decided not to give up in life ever. The rest is history.

Life is certainly not a bed of roses and even if it had been who knows I might have got hurt even with them in the long run, therefore I see no harm walking on a thorny path as far as I have a strong mantra to help me move ahead because who knows it finally leads me to the garden of spring colors in the end.

“All the adversity I’ve had in my life, all my troubles and obstacles, have strengthened me…. You may not realize it when it happens, but a kick in the teeth may be the best thing in the world for you.” — Walt Disney

--

--

Conscious Contributor
Blue Insights

Former software professional turned health, spiritual, and mindfulness enthusiast on the fold of events. Writing for peace. https://payhip.com/SurmansStore