Hiraeth | Saudade

nostalgia and deep longing…

Huria Met
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2024

--

Image by Wimber Cancho on Unsplash

Hiraeth:

Meaning: Originally in the context of Wales and Welsh culture: deep longing for a person or thing which is absent or lost (Oxford Dictionary)

Saudade:

Originally in the context of Portuguese or Brazilians characteristic, describing a longing, melancholy or nostalgia (Oxford dictionary)

My soul harbors a deep yearning for a place where the whispers of my cherished ones endure.

In the deep well of my heart, lies stories, memories and dreams that never came true

I experienced the gentle pull of saudade, in the tranquil moments before sunset, like a soft refrain.

Whilst the world is shrouded in silence, hiraeth calls my name, a soft murmur in the depths of the night.

The distant lands, forgotten dreams, blurred faces and lost moments of shared love.

A reflection on the fleeting essence of our world, for everything that comes to life must also decline,

In the quiet of twilight, as well as in the brightness of day, embrace the beauty, the joy, and the pain, for nothing in this world will stay the same.

Hiraeth draws me back to where my heart dwells, to the place I call home within the heart’s journey.

Saudade paints the complexity of our emotions, a longing for meaning and belonging

Coupled with hiraeth, patience rules with unwavering grace, with each breath, with each sigh, we learn to wait, to trust, to try.

Gratitude, with its gentle touch, reminds us of the blessings we hold dear. Within the longing and the wait, there is beauty in the moments we celebrate.

For beyond the confines of earthly matters, my longing heart found rest in Your remembrance, Mercy and Grace

--

--

Huria Met
Blue Insights

Foundation doctor | Passionate about Paediatrics and Medical Education | I enjoy reading, writing and running 📚🖊 🏃🏻‍♀️