POETRY

I feel

Grounding myself in reality

Published in
1 min readAug 10, 2023

--

I feel the moon shine through the dark,
I feel my feet in my shoes,
I feel the cold cement chips against my soles,
I feel the leaves flutter together,
I feel the cool breeze brush against my face,
I feel the wind whisper nature’s secrets,
I feel it trying to fill me in,
I feel the fragrance of a faraway rain,
I feel it keeping me quiet company,
I feel my sweat trickling down,
I feel it calm down at the wind’s touch,
I feel my body carrying itself forward.

I feel the stillness of tall buildings,
I feel the clothes dance on the clothesline,
I feel the low hum of a train passing,
I feel my breath moving in and out,
I feel my chest heaving up and down,
I feel my brain working,
I feel the beauty of existence,
I feel the silence in between,
I feel.

--

--