I Used To Be Somebody

My latest poetry book has just been released

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights
Published in
3 min readAug 24, 2023

--

The cover of my newest book

Poetry is the only way I ever found to express myself, which is a strange statement from a man who spent over forty years traveling the world as a presenter. My work was as a consultant/educator in the business of fitness, and the presentations served as a way to educate those in the field on how to survive a tough business. I racked up over three million in the air miles and have spent over 15 years of my life in hotel rooms.

If you want to be a consultant, you need credibility, and part of that foundation for me was writing nine business books on various aspects of the fitness industry, all of which are still in print and have sold well over a 100,000 copies… but I never found the time to write what I wanted to write, which was poetry.

Poetry to me borders on an obsession. I can sit face down in one of the hundreds of poetry books I have on my shelves, late at night, glass of wine near, and be as lost as I could in even the greatest of novels. Poetry to me is like a blind man finding sight later in life.

Poetry gives me a vision to the world I need to see the magic as others see it, to experience the fresh experiences of Frost, the pain of loss in a Donald Hall work, to understand the strength of women in Di Prima and Levertov, or to simply marvel at…

--

--

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.