If I Told Him Once

Jessica Niziolek
Blue Insights
2 min readAug 6, 2019

--

Irina irise, pexels.com

If I said I love you once to you, I’ve said a million and one times.

I love you’s fall from my lips, and the beats of my heart like a waterfall.

I love you’s what do they sound like?

They sound his soft-feathered voice when he says my name.

If I said I love you to you once I haven’t said it to beat out the number one million.

The entire world could know about the love I have for you, and I would still only focus on you.

You are all that matters, when I signed over my heart’s rights over to you I had no idea my heart would open and bloom so much in your care.

If I said I love you once to you, I’ve said a million and one times.

Who knew that a common greeting, a hello could be the catalyst of our modern love story.

Your love has been rebirthed and layered.

You nurture my heart in all its natural beauty.

You implore me to continue to be the best version of myself that I can be; love my flaws with such tenderness, that your loves smooth out all of their unevenness.

If I said I love you once to you, I’ve said a million and one times.

But, I realize now no matter how many times or how many ways I tell you I love you, that it will never compare to the way my heart continues to fall and bloom with love for you.

--

--

Jessica Niziolek
Blue Insights

Disability advocate, a creative, blogger, podcast host, poet