Improving in Life

An original short poem by Lifenoabrupt

Life not abrupt (L.n.a.)
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readSep 30, 2022

--

Photo by Rafael Sanfilippo on Unsplash

I became tired of waking up every day feeling like I was living the same day over and over again.

My life was on constant repeat.
The same routine day in and day out.

I was not happy being in this endless cycle.
But I could not blame it on anyone or anything but myself.
Because if I wanted to live a new day, a different day.
The power to change began with me.

I had to acknowledge where I was at in life, path one.
And I had started to be unsure about this single path of security.
The strong foundation I was laying was “missing something big”.

So I began to water that which I let “dry up beneath the soil”.
Tend to the “roots” that I have allowed to “undergrow”.
Forgive me that I deprived “you” of water for so long.
Closing “you” off was dehydrating.
What is ahead will be “challenging”,
but also “exciting”,
so with a newfound appreciation for “you my multi-passions”,
the many paths we lay will be worth it.

Thank you for reading my short poem!
©️ 2022 by L.n.a.

--

--

Life not abrupt (L.n.a.)
Blue Insights

Introvert who📝under a brand name | Medium's home to my journeys as a Black young woman: faith✝️, higherEd📚, environment🌎, & more |↪️lifenotabrupt@gmail.com