Last Breath (poem)

A.M’s Journal
Blue Insights
1 min readFeb 1, 2024

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

She lay there on the bed
Clad in a cotton saree
Softly breathing
She knew her end was near

Her favourite student sitting next to her
Singing songs she had taught her
She took a deep breath
And said, krishnaaa…..

She had no possessions
No money
No loved ones
No one who knew her
Despite her name and fame
No one who cared about who she was
In that down-trodden elder-care home

I sat there thinking
If someone has absolutely nothing
No attachment to worry about
Thinking about god in her last breath
Wow…she’s definitely been setup to go back to him.

Who do I thank I wonder.
Would she be thinking of god
If she had ten loved ones?
And a fortune to split?
In her last breath
Would she be thinking of god?

Who do I thank I wonder.
The people who betrayed her?
Dumped her in that home?
For without them
She wouldn’t be here
She wouldn’t be going back to god
I don’t know where those people will go
When they take their last breath
Surely not heaven for what they did
But without them, she wouldn’t be with god
That I’m sure. So do I thank them, I wonder.

--

--

A.M’s Journal
Blue Insights

I write about my mental health journey in the form of poetry and narratives. I've just started writing on Medium and I've been writing on mypublicjournal.com.