Let Me Know When and Where

The Sands of Time blow in the wind across the world.

Renache
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readJul 23, 2021

--

Photo by George Fitzmaurice on Unsplash

Here!
In the mountains on the hillside
I choose here.
At sixty I see us here
sipping coffee with cream and sugar
as the Sun’s glow slowly reaches over the crest
and set the hillsides alight and the last moments of night
are fleeting from the valleys still untouched by the rays.
The crisp morning air chills our breath as it escapes from our mouths
but the words we share are still warm from the years
it took to get here.
Grandchildren still bundled in blankets won’t be awake
to witness these small moments but
someday they will sit where we are now and enjoy the show.
Peace

. . .

Here!
I choose here!
Here in my 40s the crashing waves pull me
gently from my sleep as I float to my consciousness
in a sea of smooth sheets made by an artisan in our small
beach town. The scent of the salt spray flows
through the windows and makes the curtains dance graciously.
My teen boys have been swallowed by the ocean
then spit out time and time again as they try to master surfing.
I reach to the left and feel the warmth of the empty
blankets beside me. I am not the first awake and when there is
a break in the breeze the smell of French toast spreads
a smile across my face. Breakfast in bed before
working from home on a sandy beach.
Bliss

. . .

Here! I choose right here! Right now!
What more could a 20-something wish for?
20-something floors above the hustle and bustle
just far enough to find a break from it all
but close enough to easily rejoin when it’s time to grind.
A nice terrace to sip wine and the perfect rooftop for parties,
and of course a fireplace to cozy up the apartment
for a Netflix marathon of my favorite comfort show.
The lights around me glow brighter than the stars’ twinkle
and it’s all for me to make my mark.
Excitement

--

--

Renache
Blue Insights

Just a girl here to share her stories, insights, and feelings. And it’s complicated.