Blue Insights Magazine January Cultural Prompt

Little Victories

I can’t control much in this world

Kit Sawyer
Published in
1 min readJan 28, 2021

--

Cultural Prompt: “Expressing Positive Changes Emerging After Our Lives Were Disconnected Physically from Our Pre-Covid-19 Lifestyles”

Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

My paperwork from high school
gets thrown out beside the ignored
overdue collection notices
and never forgotten college
rejection letters.

My books get organized
first by paperback or hardcover,
then by topic,
then into a “overdue library return” pile
onto shelves I’ve wiped down for the first time in forever.

The change that I scrape
from underneath my bed
and in the crevices of the couch
goes into the piggy bank
I painted yellow at age 6.

I can’t control much in this world
and while I wait for things to go back
“to normal”
I can wait and do nothing, like I’ve always done,
Or.

I can make my bed,
and clean the dishes,

…and take little victories where I can.

In response to the first issue ‘Starlight’s Glow’, for @BlueInsights Magazine

--

--