When will I be okay?

The questions I ask myself as I navigate depression.

Sage Crystal
Published in
1 min readDec 26, 2020

--

It shouldn’t hurt this much
Just to be alive
I shouldn’t cry every day
I shouldn’t always hurt inside

It doesn’t make sense
Why am I always in pain?
Why do I always hurt
Why am I fighting my own brain?

Why do I have to live
Below a mental state
That is acceptable for life
Why am I so irate?

Why am I so absent
From my life and those near me?
Why am I the supporting character
In my own story?

When will the time come
For me to shine and thrive?
When will I have the strength
To do more than just survive?

How long before I leave
This poisoned state of mind?
How many times do I have to lie
And say “no really, I am fine.”

How much longer do I stay and wait
Before I’m happy again
How much longer do I hate myself
Will someone please tell me when?

--

--

Sage Crystal
Blue Insights

Poet, Exotic Pet Owner, Aviation Enthusiast. I have loved writing for as long as I can remember.