Moment of Grace

A Poem

Monica Ashokumar
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

When my mind is filled with dizzying possibilities,
Of different outcomes and different choices.
When that inner voice pokes at various vulnerabilities.
And there is an internal cacophony of ruthless noises.
A calming breeze reassures my hearts’ quickened pace.
How odd it is, that later I would realize it as precious grace.

When my stomach churned with anxiety,
Of different hurdles to be overcome.
Gut feeling clashes with pressures from the society.
And I question at what I’ve become.
I see your reassuring words from my place.
Kneeling down I realize that I’m grateful for this grace

When my heart raged with storms,
Of different emotions that injustice induced.
When I forgot that flowers just hid the thorns.
And all the trust to ashes finally reduced.
When I’m tired of the endless race,
With warmth and promises you embrace.

And in that quiet moment of grace,
I chance upon your benevolent face.

--

--

Monica Ashokumar
Blue Insights

Clinical Research Audiologist | PhD in Cognitive Sciences