Photo by Jefferson Santos from Unsplash

Music Finds Its Way into the Secret Places of the Soul

Music Is a Safe Kind of High

Nisha Karthigeyan
Blue Insights
Published in
4 min readJul 27, 2020

--

I think people who can play a musical instrument, or can sing and dance, are extremely attractive.
Every single time I’ve learned that a person can sing, or play a musical instrument really well, ir groove to the beats of the song in the background with a droolworthy ease, I’ve almost always developed a crush on them.

And I’ve always requested them to play something or sing when I meet them.
I wrote this to pen my running thoughts on music today.

I instantly develop a liking towards people with similar taste in music as mine.
When I was younger, I attended quite a few concerts. I do not know really, why I don't do that anymore.
My favorite part of concerts was when the band plays a song everyone knows, so everyone sings along, all out of tune.
But then the singer stops singing the words to the music and you see the smiles on the band members' faces because they know that people care about their music and that is one of the most beautiful things to see!

What exactly drives us and makes us impassioned about a certain genre?

I feel lots of things, most of the time I feel the song provides a nice background to my current existence as I try to wade over the loud, concrete city traffic snarl.
Some music gives me much more than a peaceful environment, and I have trouble actually putting words on that.

A certain section of my playlist with country collection gives me such feelings of nostalgia that I’m almost transferred to another time, often that feeling is of a memory or emotion that I can’t quite hold in my mind.

Some music gives me energy; I seldom listen while writing but surely, the songs play in my head, giving me a boost!
Some songs (some you would expect, some not) move me deeply. These are actually the strangest, because these feelings I cannot control at all and at the same time these are the ones I cherish most, if that makes sense.

When the written word, a passage in a book or a poem, moves me I think I know why, but when a piece of music does, I can’t really tell. Even if it’s accompanied by a wonderful piece of lyrics it’s the music that tips the wages.

We all have a favorite tune though.

Mine is when sometimes a song can strip away all of your defenses and make you feel your cracks.

Personally, I listen to music everywhere I am, with my own company ; there's no location too remote, no setting too complicated no work too intense for me not to have a soundtrack to it. I am on my laptop right now and there is music playing, in the background.

When I get into my car and start the engine, music starts playing. When I put my sons to sleep and spend some time undertow ceiling stars, we enjoy the soundtrack of Alvin and the chipmunks, lately.

Does music heal?

I think so.

You are what you listen to.

Dense aura grows on me rapidly. I use music to deal with my thoughts daily.
Music for me is like the background for my work, my routine existence.
Think of it like frosting on a cake.
The cake is good… But the frosting makes it better!
If I’m feeling particularly sad?
Yes, maybe something to get my brains not sway into the negative zone.
If I’m feeling happy? Great! Music can amp it up.

I don't know if I must call it “treatment” like to be therapeutic? I'm not sure. I guess I wouldn't know due to the fact that I am only saying it from my own experience and not from a professional stand.
It does help me though.

(Thank-you for reading this article!)

My passion is writing. Everything I write about is geared toward things that I deeply cares about—experiences, thoughts, drama, and emotions. A full-time mom to two handsome boys—11 and 4—I built a career around insurance underwriting and later, teaching of English literature and language in high school, before vanishing into full-time mommy responsibilities. I believe that life is not meant to be serious all of the time, and that we should have fun as much as we can. Besides writing, I enjoy watching spy network series and living it up by creating laugh memes with my two lovely young boys!

To follow my work on.

https://www.facebook.com/sayitnish
http://instagram.com/sayitnish
http://sayitnish.com/

--

--

Nisha Karthigeyan
Blue Insights

The idli sambhar girl who wants to write her own Book! Iam an avid blogger. Writing is my passion. nisha.kartik@yahoo.co.in