My First Polaroid Photograph

Gratitude, love and a rose

Vidya Kasarla
Blue Insights
Published in
3 min readFeb 25, 2021

--

Photo by hitesh choudhary from Pexels

Not until that day, I realized how fortunate I was, and I am, for every time I fuss over my little sorrows. Little did I know a tiny lad, sweet smile, and a beautiful rose, not to forget a 5-inch photograph could make me feel like the world’s happiest person. An oh-so-pure smile spreads across my lips every time I think of it; I feel proud of my being.

A year back, times when I was stubborn about taking a solo trip. It was the first of January. The lawn was filled with people who loved to spend their precious day peacefully. I grabbed a book and leaped under a shady tree with patches of sun showering me now and then. But my heart crept inside my bag and got hold of my first ever polarized camera. Before I could click a photograph, a tiny girl appeared in front of the camera lens urging me to buy roses (they are beautiful, I should agree). She was eight years old then. With ragged clothes and dilapidated slippers on, she seemed to have starved for days. I purchased few flowers. When I was about to say goodbye, she stopped and asked me about the camera.

When I said what it is. She said, “Didi*, Could I please get a photograph? I haven’t seen my face in years, and I don’t have a photo of my own.”

Could I deny?

I agreed and had captured a beautiful and pure smile as my first Polaroid photo and gifted the most precious gift of my whole life. In turn, I received the sweetest and loveliest thanks from her. And she flew like a butterfly, colors all over her smile.

Did I get over with this tiny smile? No. I wanted more. So The mighty one sent some more on my way.

“The little things? The little moments? — They aren’t little ” — John Zabat-Zinn

Five minutes later, She dragged her mother and brother asked me to click them together. So when I did and gifted them two more copies for their memories, I was overwhelmed with the happiness that radiated from their smile.

Mother said, “I do not know how to thank you, for we have nothing but this thanks with us. These made our day and year.”

She gave me few more roses as gratitude. So fresh were the roses that I couldn’t help but compare them to those tiny smiles from the red parched lips of the tiny girl and her brother. By the way, her brother was nowhere to be seen after I gave them the photo. He started jumping on trees with the photo clutched in his hand.

How little are the joys of our life? Why do we always complicate them?

“Remember this, that very little is needed to make a happy life” — Marcus Aurelius

I don’t know; if one tiny photograph can make their year, how happy could we be when we capture every moment of our lives and store them in bundles.
Make your day with some small smiles from strangers. Help people cross the roads, buy candies to tiny roadside needy little humans, Gift them blankets, buy them some simple handmade items, buy them slippers, listen to their joys and sorrows. Offer them your help.

The world is too large, and life is too small to help. Have your share.

More than anything, be grateful for all you have in your life.

*Didi (Hindi): Sister

Thank you for your valuable time. I hope you enjoyed this tiny piece.

Love, Vidya.

--

--