My Heart Was a Love Letter

Find more poems here at Reflections of a Hopeless Creative

Adonis Richards
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readFeb 25, 2024

--

Image credit to Atlantios on Pixabay

My heart was a love letter
That you turned into an origami crane
And even though that’s not what I expected
I accepted this date for initially I was stuck in the honeymoon

phase of you creating art and putting my heart on display
I thought you would read me, every day
To remind you of the adoration I gave
But instead, I learned to realize that

I was much more of a trophy,
That you displayed
To friends and loved ones because I looked
So Good in a trophy case

My appearance was so much more pleasing
Than the love I gave
In these words that now spill onto the sheet of paper
you folded leaving me depraved

Empty, like this sheet that started with a sonnet
Is now bleeding like my heart

Because I’ve become enslaved to this shelf
and your facade of love that you
showcase to everybody who
Would look

Sincerely,
Donnie

Follow my Newsletter Lucidvoices.org

--

--

Adonis Richards
Blue Insights

Writer and poet aspiring to write and create content. Website: adonisinquiry.com