On With The Show

a poem

D. Wyn Price
Published in
2 min readOct 2, 2020

--

Photo by Kevin Jarrett on Unsplash.

Blinding lights upon the stage,
The curtain tightly drawn,
And the stage lights burn so bright,
Just like the waking dawn,

The orchestra is playing,
The music gaining mass,
With rising tempo, urgency,
Each breath feels like a gasp.

I see my hands are trembling,
The nerves like piano strings,
And mind question what could go wrong,
At least a million things,

At last, too soon the curtain parts,
There I stand alone,
God, it feels a lifetime ago,
“Oh I see you’ve grown,”

I joke and tease those present,
Make light of my trespass,
Or perhaps my vacancy,
Assure that it wont last.

Thunderous the applause,
“You set the bar too high,”
“I have yet to earn such love,”
A joke, a laugh, a lie.

Far too soon, not fast enough,
The show is done and gone,
I have basked in their love,
Yet something feels so wrong.

--

--

D. Wyn Price
Blue Insights

Poet, published writer, artist Native to NC, enjoying coastal living. Decent human being. Grateful. Dwindsorprice@yahoo.com Windsorstudios@wordpress.com