Searching for the Me I Had to Be

Memories of you keeping me alive long after I die…

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readApr 9, 2024

--

By Lightkey on iStock (image licensed by author)

There are days
I didn’t know me,
wasted hours alive
but dead to those around me.
There were wasted years
I searched to find me,
but I was brilliant at hiding
myself from me, pretending
to be the me I could never be.
This me searching for myself
led me to you, and of all
the versions of me
that have been,
you found the only
me I ever liked.

There are touches of you
I will remember
long after I am dead,
me long gone,
but memories of you
keeping me alive long
after I die… letting go
of the final breath of me,
but never the last
thought of you.
I am me because of you,
the me I finally learned
to love, the only me
who could love you.

--

--

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.