An Ode to Friendship

Seldom Together But Never Apart

A salute to an old friend on his birthday

Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readApr 1, 2024

--

By South Agency on iStock )image licesned by author)

Not sure you could ever understand, but one of the best parts of being me was being with you. I sat with you late night after your business failed, you had nothing left, a broken man, yet you were undefeated by the pain, ready to rise one more time.

There were times when I watched you give away the last few dollars I knew you didn’t have, to people hurt and damaged by their own weakness, not deserving, still their hand out to you to save them… and you never failed one who came to you.

My life spent standing in front of thousands of seekers, hoping I was the one who could give them the secrets to success, and maybe life too, but my best memories after forty years on the endless roads of my career are me and you being the last two idiots in a hundred bars, just talking, laughing, hiding away for a few hours, comfortable in a friendship that has defined my life.

We go months without talking, then finish each other’s sentences on the phone. We are seldom together, but never apart, one call away from hearing a voice that has always been there when I most hurt in life. Thank you my friend, you have been an underserved blessing to a man who knows the world but is only comfortable in the company of so few.

--

--

Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.