That Damned Facebook Messenger “Ding”

My Anxiety Trigger, And For Good Reason

Sreese
Blue Insights
Published in
4 min readApr 1, 2022

--

Photo by Manny Becerra on Unsplash

Certain sights and certain sounds can trigger anxiety. It’s not that I don’t understand why. There’s good reason to squirm when I hear that damned Facebook Messenger “Ding.”

Some people use the same Messenger “Ding” sound for texts and other notifications. If I hear it on someone else’s phone, my ears perk up. Even when I know it’s not my phone, I still look to be sure.

I don’t use Messenger much and never did. I’ve only used it occasionally, and it’s the primary contact for a couple of friends, but not ones I interact with often. Yet every time the ding happens, especially if I know it’s for me, I freeze.

Uh-oh

I enjoy hearing from two particular friends exclusively via Messenger, but I get a little nervous when I do. To what do I owe the surprise? Is everything okay? Are you upset about something I said? Why does it take you to get back to me?

The next is the solicitations, invitations, and info I don’t need. I don’t want to get fake warnings about some consumer product or an invite to a Pampered Chef party in a faraway state where I have one Facebook friend. Regardless of your political affiliation, leave politics out of my Messenger.

--

--

Sreese
Blue Insights

Western New Yorker, musician, construction supply chain veteran, memoirist, never say never-ist. Top Writer in Sports and 2x Top Writer in Music.