The Cage

You never asked for more, until you did

Talaya McCain
Blue Insights
Published in
Aug 30, 2021

--

Photo by Deleece Cook

I never identified with The Bird
But The Cage....

I said I made space for you
I even provided a door for your security
I gave you your necessities, daily
I watched you grow.
You never asked for more, until you did.
I swung my gate open without hesitation,
And you flew through my entrance like a portal.
I still watch you from an immeasurable distance.
You often speak of me.
You sing to everyone of your dreadful time with me.
You endlessing replicate your rife.
As though without me you have no other song.
As though you never left.

This piece is about remaining present. We often lack onto past pain as though without it, we are ourselves. Break free and never look back.

Thank you,

-McCain

--

--

Talaya McCain
Blue Insights

I am a neuro-chemical that triggers levels of dopamine and norepinephrine to increase.... Spotify: @talayamccain