The Cold Rain Beat Me Today

Even my bad attitude could never stop the rain

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights
Published in
2 min readJan 7, 2024

--

By Sky Nesher on iStock (image licensed by author)

The cold rain beat me today.
It came after me early, pounding
hard enough on the roof
to wake me at 6:00. The marsh
behind my house creeping up
into my yard, two days of rain
too much for the narrow river.
Covered my puppies with their furry
blanket, threw another layer
on our bed… then gave up.
Pulled down the shades, curled
deep under the layers, and hid,
admitting defeat. Been obstinate
my entire life, never knew when
to walk away, rather take the beating
than admit I couldn’t get it done. Now,
too damn old to care, more than willing
to quit on a miserable morning and hide,
bowing to a tougher force of nature. It was
good to be me, but now I am happy
letting the world slip away while
I curl up in a warm bed. Even my bad
attitude could never stop the rain.

--

--

Thomas Plummer
Blue Insights

A simple life dedicated to leaving the world a little better than I found it. Long career in the business of fitness, writer of books, speaker, personal coach.