The Dark Side of “Flow”

Reflections from a Human Who Can’t Escape It

Erica Helander
Blue Insights
Published in
1 min readAug 14, 2020

--

The screen in front of me glows warm and inviting.
(The yellowed light doesn’t hurt my head as much.)

Time and space quietly slip away.

Five minutes, an hour, nine hours, all blurred together.

Photo by Max Fuchs on Unsplash

My focus isn’t a laser,
no HD sharp edges,

but everything else is soft.

My surroundings come and go like waves, gently lapping at my consciousness.

Photo by Mary Martin on Unsplash

Did I feed the dog-
I should thaw chicken for supper-
I was going to shower today-

just a minute. let me finish this chapter.

And I am adrift.

--

--

Erica Helander
Blue Insights

I got in trouble for reading too much as a kid, so now I’m morally obligated to be a writer.